10.11.2018

Montréal Exchange Extends Trading To London Hours

Montréal Exchange, Canada’s derivatives exchange, opened for trading at 2:00 a.m. EDT, or 7:00 a.m. London time.

The move to extend its trading hours is in response to an increase in activity and demand from MX’s global clients, particularly during the early trading session. MX’s regular trading session has increased in duration by four hours, with trading now available between 2:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. ET (7:00 a.m. to 9:30 p.m. London time), and a pre-open or order entry session beginning at 1:30 a.m. ET (6:30 a.m. London time).

Designed as a trading and risk management solution for investors around the world, extended trading hours enables domestic and international clients to manage their exposure to Canadian markets and execute cross-market strategies during non-regular Canadian business hours. Investors now have expanded access to MX’s suite of interest rate derivatives products, including the internationally recognized Canadian benchmarks Three-Month Canadian Bankers’ Acceptance Futures (BAX) and Ten-Year Government of Canada Bond Futures (CGB). Extended trading hours will also help MX expand globally, diversify its existing client base, and develop new liquidity centers.

“This is an exciting day for Montréal Exchange as we, together with our valued clients and stakeholders, take an important step forward in the evolution of Canada’s world-class markets,” said Luc Fortin, President and Chief Executive Officer of MX and Global Head of Trading, TMX Group. “Over time, we expect extended hours to deliver multiple long-term benefits to our marketplace, including increased participation, improved transparency, and enhanced liquidity while strengthening MX’s competitive global position. We extend our sincere thanks to our clients for their partnership in this initiative and we look forward to the collaborative work ahead in pursuit of future successes.”

MX will offer full and continuous client support services throughout the entire trading day. For complete details, please see our website.

Source: Montréal Exchange

Related articles

  1. Greater participation from institutional investors will require clarification from regulators.

  2. Brexit Vote Could Affect Emerging Market Flows

    The Bank of England also warned that £41 trillion of derivatives are at risk.

  3. Technology Cuts Investor-Communication Costs

    Fees to generate derivatives ISINs will be 4% lower.

  4. Cross-border harmonization will be set back if the UK is not deemed equivalent after Brexit.

  5. U.S. Buy Side Split on 'Brexit'

    The offering automates the creation of new counterparty client agreements.